Skip to content

The World Potato Congress Industry Award


The World Potato Congress Industry Award ceremony is an important and prestigious event on the international potato scene. The award recognizes a lifetime of contributions to the potato industry. Typically, three outstanding individuals are recognized during the Industry Awards ceremony at the World Potato Congress.  The 12th World Potato Congress will be held June 23-26, 2024 in Adelaide, Australia.

How to Make a Nomination

  • Industry Award Proposer

    You must provide your full name, professional status, email, and telephone number. *Industry Award Proposers are requested to refrain from a write-in campaign in support of their nominee. Letters of support for your nominee will not be factored into the decision-making process.

  • Nominee Information

    Within 250 words, please provide your nominee’s full name, email, telephone number, the nominee’s career outline, and reasons why this nominee is a good candidate for the Industry Award.

  • Nomination Submission

    Details forthcoming.

Industry Award Recipients

2022 WPC Industry Awards

"The World Potato Congress was pleased to present the 2022 World Potato Congress Industry Awards during the 11th World Potato Congress in Dublin, Ireland. The Awards were presented to John J. Burke, Paul C. Struik, Antoon Wallays and Richard "Dick" Okray.


From left to right are WPC President Romain Cools, Mark Finnessey standing in for Dick Okray, Antoon Wallays, Paul C. Struik, John J. Burke and Tamas Houlihan, Chairman of the Industry Awards Committee. Photo courtesy of Jaap Delleman, Potato World magazine.

The Awards recognize outstanding personal contribution and leadership in respect to the development and progress of the global potato industry.

2018 - Peru

Dr. Anton Haverkort, the Netherlands
Mr. Alberto Salas, Peru
Dr. Gary Secor, USA

2015 - China
Dr. Yili Chen, China
Albert T. Wada, USA
Kees Van Arendonk, the Netherlands
Dr. Neil C. Gudmestad, USA
Dr. Kevin Clayton-Green, Australia

2012 – Scotland
Dr. Stuart Carnegie – Scotland
Guy Van den Broeke – Belgium
Luc Van den Broeke – Belgium
Ennino Pizzoli – Italy

2009 – New Zealand
Ron Gall, New Zealand
Gregg Halverson, USA
Hardev Sing Sangha, India
Mr Joop N Stet, the Netherlands.

2006 – USA
Jim Godfrey, UK
David Montgomery, Australia
Dr. Dongyu Qu, China
Ronald D. Offutt, USA

2004 – China
Ray Owen, England
Antonie M (Tony) van Leersum, The Netherlands
Walter Karl Heinz (Buebi) Krohn, Germany
Dr. Prof. Song Bofu, Beijing, People’s Republic of China

2000 – The Netherlands
Jan Frans Binst- Belgium
Kees van Loon, The Netherlands
Robert Mercer, USA
Dr. John Hillman, Dundee, Scotland
Luis Matutano, Spain

1997 – South Africa
John Richard (JR) Simplot, Idaho, USA
Dr. Hubert Zandstra, International Potato Center, Lima, Peru
Heinz Wenger, Germany
Robin Pooley, England

1994 – England
Harrison McCain, New Brunswick, Canada
Dr. Gunther Graf, Germany
Dr. Jack Dennett, Caithness, Scotland
Mr. Andreas Savvides, Nicosia, Cyprus

1993 – Canada
David Loggie, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Walter Kroaker, Manitoba, Canada
Prof. John Neiderhouser, Arizona, USA
Dr. Date van der Zaag, Wageningen, The Netherlands

Scroll To Top